Romances and Interludes

  • September 9, 1989
  • By admin
  • Comments Off on Romances and Interludes
  • in




Commissioned: Houston Symphony Society at the invitation of its Music Director, Christoph Eschenbach

Premiere: January 6, 1990; Houston Symphony; Christoph Eschenbach, conductor; Robert Atherholt, oboe; also, Cincinnati Symphony; Jesus Lopez-Cobos, principal oboist

Duration: 24’

Publisher: Schott Helicon Music Corporation (BMI)

Orchestral Instrumentation: 2(afl).0.ca.2.2-, 2tam-t, glsp, mar, vib)-hp.pno(cel)-str



Program Notes:

In December 1849 Robert Schumann wrote his Drei Romanzen (‘Three Romances’) for oboe and piano Op. 94. They are the only contribution of an original solo work by an important Romantic composer to the entire 19th century oboe literature. Tobias Picker has embedded these pieces in his own composition: A Prelude precedes the first Romance, which is accompanied by Picker’s colourful orchestration. The remaining two Romances are interspersed by Picker’s Interludes.


For oboe and orchestra

2(afl).0.ca.2.2-, 2tam-t, glsp, mar, vib)-hp.pno(cel)-str